top of page

LAUNDRY ROOM


BEFORE AND AFTER

I love this sunny little room full of charm. This room got the works; new drywall, heating/cooling, lighting, tile floor, DIY board and batten, reclaimed bench, reclaimed storage, new door, trim, windows, ceiling... the list goes on. Maybe it's easier to say what we kept; one of those charming sinks and the built in medicine cabinet.

DIY BOARD AND BATTEN

I love love LOVE board and batten. And how hard could it be right? Just glew some pieces of wood on the wall? hahahaaaa That's how my brain works, I was so very WRONG. It's harder than "just" gluing strips of wood up. There are great tutorials out there on Pinterest to use for this.

The one tip I will mention is the same challenge we ran into with our wainscotting. You would think I would learn by now that you MUST account for the saw blade "chewing" or removing some of the wood when you make a cut. Make your cut on the same side of your mark each time. Because we completely forgot about this all of our lengths were slightly off and we realized this after we had glued the pieces to the wall with liquid nails, there was no going back. lol We filled in the gaps with caulk and it's hardly noticeable, but please learn from our mistakes! It still turned out beautiful, thank god.

DIY RECLAIMED BENCH

I must admit this bench didn't take much work. The wide planks were already nailed together like so. All I had to do was trim the size down to fit perfectly in this space, give it a light sanding and finish with linseed oil. I attached it to the wall with big L brackets, added legs that I happened to have lying in the attic. The final touch was adding a piece of reclaimed wood to the front to finish it off. I absolutely love this project. It's another lovely place I can display my obsession for plants! :)

RECLAIMED STORAGE

I found this cedar box in an old chicken coop. I removed the cover turned it on it's side and added some crates on the shelves. Metal caster wheels finished the look off. It was a very cheap project that adds more reclaimed character to the space and also it's a great place to store lost socks.

I hope you enjoyed my laundry room makeover, stay tuned for more rooms!

bottom of page