top of page

FRONT EXTERIOR


BEFORE AND AFTER

Well this is just depressing, sharing sunny pictures of the exterior and it's currently 8 DEGREES OUT. But anyways, the exterior got quite the facelift. Every piece of trim got repainted, some bushes were pulled, some flowering shrubs added, refurbished stoop, and new windows! We kept the original windows to the front porch, but replaced the rest of them with a similar craftsman style. I kept the same style and made sure they were wood on the interior because I didn't want to downgrade after taking out the originals. I was sad to see them go, but their was no insulation surrounding them, so SO many bugs were able to get in and of course energy efficiency was a major issue.

DIY STOOP REMODEL

This stoop makeover made all the difference. It's so AMAZING what a little bit of power washing can do. All we did to the actually steps was a quick power washing and under all the algae, dirt and grime was a really pleasant color. We removed the outdated rusty iron railings and replaced it with a natural stone wall, made by my husband and I. These are stones found right out here on our farm. The only cost to this project was the masonry mortar and the top limestone caps (roughly $200.) Not to shabby for a new stone entrance.

And also, let me let you in on a little secret, that light fixture I added... isn't even a functioning light. Guess what? I just screwed it on. Some of you may say well that's just silly, but I love the way it looks and getting power to it was impossible unless we wanted to spend some major moolah. Who really cares anyways, would I even turn it on if it did work? Probably not. In design... there are no rules, add a light that doesn't turn on, who cares. lol

I will save the landscaping and backyard for another post this summer because I'm completely obsessed with gardening these days!

bottom of page