top of page

DINING ROOM


BEFORE/ AFTER

Like the living room, the dining room went through the same transformation process; oak floors and trim were refinished, walls were demolished, new drywall and lighting fixture installed.

The very large radiators were taken out and central air and heat were added. I was not sad about the radiators leaving us because they were coated in layers of paint and pretty hideous, they also were not the original radiators to the home.

NOW TO THE FURNITURE

The table was actually a hand me down solid oak table from my parents that I grew up sitting at. It was very 80's, peachy blonde in color and outdated. I painted the frame and legs white and distressed. The top I sanded down, stained and applied polyurethane. I added sleek and modern chairs.

SIDEBOARD OVERHAUL

Turns out I'm not so good at remembering to take before pictures, you all will have to believe me that this sideboard was a real turd at first. It was in the home when we moved in, so I thought it should probably stay here. The veneer was pulling up all over the place and so I had to completely peel it off the top. I replaced the handles, painted it with white chalk paint and DISTRESSED. (My favorite!) The drawer faces also got a fresh application of stain to liven it up.

SHELF DIY

This is probably my favorite project ever!! I found these live edge boards in a barn one day and thought I must use them. I had my husband plane them with his planer. We applied a light coat of furniture wax over the smooth surface. The brackets I ordered online and spray painted flat black. I love them so much because I can show off my obsession for plants! hehehe

HIDE EYESORES

Does this affect the heating and cooling of my house, you may be wondering? The honest answer is maybe by one degree. To me hiding the ugliness of the thermostats are more important than that one degree. I found this canvas and it fits perfectly over the eyesores, I just screwed hinges on the left side of it and added command velcro strips to the right so it latches shut and won't swing open by itself.

Another room off my list!! Please comment and ask questions!

bottom of page